Skip to content

desktop

September 29, 2011

So I can finally share with you guys the cover I have recently created for desktop.
It hit the news stands yesterday.

Its the first cover I’ve ever created so I’m rather chuffed. When I was studying design at Enmore College, desktop was one of the coolest design mags around but it lost its relevance in the ensuing years. Editor, Brendan McKnight, has since made the magazine a modern voice in the #AUS design conversation.

As a side venture, my next door studio mate – the talented photgrapher Trevor King – put together this ‘making of’ video that is soon to be uploaded to the Desktop website. We’ve been looking for a project to work on together for a while – I think he produced a little wonder. Thanks Trev!
And below are some WIP shots >>

The handles, which took ages – curves always do >> Below the model from behind via photo shoot - these things are never sleek from the back.

Below >> photographer Tong from Tong and Danny at work. He really pushed me to get everything right so no Photoshop was needed. I appreciate his ethos of “get the camera to do as much of the work as possible”.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 1:38 pm

    Awesome job as always Benja—and congratulations!
    Great video too. I love watching someone at work.

  2. November 30, 2011 1:23 pm

    I’ve popped by via Nia May papercuts…
    Wow love your work… it’s amazing! I really love the video too… it’s great to see the process behind the finished art piece… thank you :)

Trackbacks

  1. October cover: behind-the-scenes video | desktop
  2. Quick Picks Thursday : 10.6.11 | Paper Crave
  3. Cuando haces pop, ya no hay stop. Libros pop-up | muymolon

Leave a Reply

