Skip to content

For Boomi via Art&About

October 10, 2011

I made an artwork in memory of my friend Boomi as part of Art&About this year.

Over the time I knew him, Boomi often asked me to create something for his FAB ArtBox – really happy I finally got there.
I wanted to make something site-specific and I like the texture of the recycled timber cladding that surrounds the artbox. Taking structure and place as my reference point, I engineered a facsimile in white card, sinking design into that.

Below >> To give you an idea of the charismatic person Boomi was – the Forbes & Burton Christmas decorations back in 2009? Glam-Rock Santa spreadeagle on a boogie board being towed by Rudolph the great white shark of course! Hilarious! So Aussie. He had a strong vision of sustainability and giving back to community through food, art and laughter; hence the creation of a public place to display public art on his building.

Above >> studio WIP at the final dimensions, it was bloody huge! Below >> the install – snapped a kool pic of this foxy local strutting past. Thank you BOOMI! It was an honour. Thank you to Zoe too.

One Comment
  1. vanessa permalink
    November 30, 2011 8:20 pm

    I’ve been admiring this piece! Of course it’s by fabulous you. Lovely work Benja.

Comments are closed.