Skip to content

Pop Up by Petit h

May 10, 2012

I’m now able to share my first project with the brilliant Petit h crew that was designed and created at the workshop in Paris late last year.

Nom: Pop Up
Artiste: Benja Harney
Artisan: Jonathan Rebouh
Photo: Quentin Bertoux

I was encouraged by the team to collaborate on a pop-up book in leather – no mean feat! Through archive research I took for my inspiration the distinctive corners on Hermès luggage. I was intrigued by the way the craftsmen fold and stitch the leather for strength and durability which produced these bold and highly graphic shapes.

I firstly engineered four pop-ups in paper which were then translated into leather and assembled by talented artisan Jonathon – he did such a superb job on what was a challenging venture.




The four spreads were housed in the most exquisite crocodile skin trunk. A detail shot of the corners below shows the exacting work that goes in to producing something of this standard.

The passion, expertise and history that the Petit h craftsmen/women apply to their everyday creation left a deep impression. This project completely invigorated my own appetite and commitment to outstanding design.

‘Pop Up’ was first presented at the Petit h sale in Paris last year at the incredible Rive Gauche store (above) and is now on show in Berlin.
For more background please refer to my previous post HERE.
Looking forward to see what we come up with next! Much thanks to the whole team.

© All images courtesy of Petit h

One Comment
  1. May 11, 2012 8:54 am

    Congratulations, Benja – it looks amazing.

Comments are closed.