Skip to content

Lego + Paperform = Festival of Play

May 31, 2012

I can finally share the billboard that I was asked to design for Lego. Super exciting! I think my brother and I spent the majority of our childhoods playing Lego so to have a design immortalised in this brilliant stuff is such a thrill.

The Festival of Play is a celebration of 50 years of Lego being in Australia. The billboards are just one part of a year long program. 10 different Australian creatives were asked to put their spin on Lego and produce a design. These were then hand built by Australia’s very own certified Lego Master Builder Ryan McNaught and his team of helpers.

I wanted to push beyond the idea of a flat pixelated image and actually use the 3D nature of Lego – that is what my work is all about at the end of the day! I decided to ‘carve’ into the white billboard and use a sense of depth and the third dimension to reveal a shock of colour. Ryan’s suggestion of internal lighting really brings the whole thing to life at night.

The billboard is on display at the corners of Macquarie and Bent St’s in the city until June 5th and will then tour around Australia – first stop Powerhouse.
Thanks to Bob Mackintosh for the night shots.

Comments are closed.